Thread poster: Aya Deutsch
Aya Deutsch
Aya Deutsch  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 01:03
Member (2010)
English to Hebrew
Feb 26, 2019

I was recently "dismissed" from working as a freelancer on a rather large project rather large project because of working as a freelancer (of course) for a competing agency. The company's representative claimed that this is the company's policy.
I need assistance in relating to a. the fact that working with that other agency was never mentioned as a condition. b. the fact that as a freelancer I am not involved in the agencies' competition, and in any case am bound by their NDAs.
Does
... See more
I was recently "dismissed" from working as a freelancer on a rather large project rather large project because of working as a freelancer (of course) for a competing agency. The company's representative claimed that this is the company's policy.
I need assistance in relating to a. the fact that working with that other agency was never mentioned as a condition. b. the fact that as a freelancer I am not involved in the agencies' competition, and in any case am bound by their NDAs.
Does anyone know of a way to tackle this issue?
Many thanks
Aya
Collapse

Liviu-Lee Roth
Liviu-Lee Roth
United States
Local time: 19:03
Romanian to English
+ ...
My opinion Feb 26, 2019

I think that this pertains mostly to local rules.
Here, in the US, I work as a translator for three competing agencies that have a specific contract with the US government and they know that I work for all three competitors. No problems, so far. As an interpreter, the same thing; many agencies know that I work also for/with their competitors.
It sounds absurd to me to "dismiss" you for that reason. You are a freelance translator, not an employee. It may be illegal, also.

... See more
I think that this pertains mostly to local rules.