Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Can you import a wordfast classic glossary?
Thread poster: Roni_S
Roni_S
Roni_S  Identity Verified
Slovakia
Local time: 21:43
Slovak to English
Aug 18, 2015

Hi all,

Is there a way to import a glossary created in wordfast classic? I'm very new to cafetran and I'm also quite technically inept, so a dumbed-down version of the process, if there is one, would be much appreciated.

Cheers!
Roni

Dominique Pivard
Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:43
Finnish to French
Sure Aug 18, 2015

You may want to check my video on CafeTran 2015:

http://wordfast.fi/blog/cat-tools/2015/06/20/first-steps-with-cafetran-espresso-2015/

At 4:00, it shows how to import sample terminology from an Excel file.

Just open your Wordfast glossary in Excel and you can continue from there. On the other hand, a Wordfast glos
... See more
You may want to check my video on CafeTran 2015:

http://wordfast.fi/blog/cat-tools/2015/06/20/first-steps-with-cafetran-espresso-2015/

At 4:00, it shows how to import sample terminology from an Excel file.

Just open your Wordfast glossary in Excel and you can continue from there. On the other hand, a Wordfast glossary is just a tab-delimited text file, so you should be able to import it directly in CafeTran.
Collapse

Roni_S
Slovakia
Slovak to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Aug 18, 2015

Thanks, Dominique. I like the video, it is clear and concise and helped me understand some of the basics - but my glossary import failed. It seems corrupted somehow, and I wonder if it has to do with all the asterisks I've added to the source words (Slavic language) in the Wordfast glossary. It also does not appear in Cafetran as tab-delimited, it looks like a jumbled mess all in one column with various diamond symbols throughout. *Sigh* I knew it sounded far too easy for it to work for me... See more