CAT tools. Target format.
Thread poster: Olivia Oddy
Olivia Oddy
Olivia Oddy
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:45
Spanish to English
Sep 22, 2020

I am new to translating and CAT tools. I have been translating documents of different formats, CV's, university certificates, educational documents etc. Using SmartCat, CafeTrans or MemoQ.

The most frustrating thing that I come across every time is that the format of the source document isn't reproduced in the target.

My question is, is it bad practice to send a translation as a text, in a word document for example, or should the translation be a (translated) replica
... See more
I am new to translating and CAT tools. I have been translating documents of different formats, CV's, university certificates, educational documents etc. Using SmartCat, CafeTrans or MemoQ.

The most frustrating thing that I come across every time is that the format of the source document isn't reproduced in the target.

My question is, is it bad practice to send a translation as a text, in a word document for example, or should the translation be a (translated) replica of the original document?

If anybody has any advice on correcting the format of the translated document, or can recommend any videos or courses on ProZ, that would be great. Thank you.
Collapse

Philippe Locquet
Philippe Locquet  Identity Verified
Portugal
English to French
+ ...
Tags Sep 22, 2020

Olivia Oddy wrote:

My question is, is it bad practice to send a translation as a text, in a word document for example, or should the translation be a (translated) replica of the original document?

If anybody has any advice on correcting the format of the translated document, or can recommend any videos or courses on ProZ, that would be great. Thank you.

Hello.