Thread poster: sarahprice
sarahprice
sarahprice
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:47
French to English
+ ...
Jul 3, 2018

I am a UK-based sole trader who is registered with the tax authorities in the UK but not liable for compulsory VAT registration in the UK as I earn below the annual income threshold. I am therefore not registered for VAT in the UK. I have a new client based in Germany who is asking me to state on my invoice under which clause number of UK fiscal law I am exempt from paying VAT in order to satisfy the German tax authorities. I have absolutely no idea as it has never been an issue before. Is anyon... See more
I am a UK-based sole trader who is registered with the tax authorities in the UK but not liable for compulsory VAT registration in the UK as I earn below the annual income threshold. I am therefore not registered for VAT in the UK. I have a new client based in Germany who is asking me to state on my invoice under which clause number of UK fiscal law I am exempt from paying VAT in order to satisfy the German tax authorities. I have absolutely no idea as it has never been an issue before. Is anyone able to advise me in this regard? Many thanks in advanceCollapse

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Hmm, no idea. However, … Jul 3, 2018

… one of my German clients (a decent-sized, very professional agency) asked me to add the phrase "Reverse Charge" to my invoices to them, so now I now state:

Reverse Charge; see ‘VAT Notice 741A: place of supply of services’.
Unique Taxpayer Reference Number (UTR): XXXXXXXXXX.

HTH!

Michael

[Edited at 2018-07-03 18:54 GMT]

[Edited at 2018-07-03 21:10 GMT]

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 02:47
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Just a wild guess Jul 3, 2018

sarahprice wrote: