Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4] >
has anyone heard of CTP(certified translation professional) program by Global Translation Institute?
Thread poster: Yue Edwards
Yue Edwards
Yue Edwards
United States
Local time: 14:09
English to Chinese
Nov 19, 2009

I got my master degree from biotechnology, but i am not quite interested in the technical research work. I am trying to become a freelance translator of English to Chinese, but i found very disappointed. Having no translation related background is very hard for newcomers, although i try to start with bio-related industry. I found this program online, but i don't know if it's good and well recognized. If anyone knows, please share with me, thank you very much!!!

Yue

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:09
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Don't go for it Nov 19, 2009

Honestly it does not look like a very clear thing. Apart from the fact that they have typos in their website (Tranlsator Certification Video), can you explain why the domain translationcertification.org is owned by a hedge fund manager with no relation to translation? Allwhois.com reports that the domain is owned by the owner of richardcwilson.com.

Looks a bit fishy to me, quite frankly. The part that looks most fishy to me is:
Question: Can I take the exam onli
... See more
Honestly it does not look like a very clear thing. Apart from the fact that they have typos in their website (Tranlsator Certification Video), can you explain why the domain translationcertification.org is owned by a hedge fund manager with no relation to translation? Allwhois.com reports that the domain is owned by the owner of richardcwilson.com.

Looks a bit fishy to me, quite frankly. The part that looks most fishy to me is:
Question: Can I take the exam online?
Answer:Yes, the exam is only available online, you can earn the certification from anywhere in the world.
END QUOTE