How can I enter Romanian characters in Word with English keyboard?
Thread poster: TTilch
TTilch
TTilch  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:22
English to German
+ ...
Sep 10, 2003

Buna seara,

I'm still a total beginner concerning the Romanian language, so I have to ask my question in English:

How can I enter Romanian characters in Word without a Romanian keyboard/software? Is there an ASCII or ANSI code which contains them?

Multumesc,

Tanja

Doru Voin
Doru Voin  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 20:22
English to Romanian
+ ...
Character Map Sep 11, 2003

Look in Character Map, tool available under
Programs/Accessories/System Tools.
For instance:

î = Alt+0238
â = Alt+0226

You can also use the Copy to Clipboard utility available in Character Map.

However, in order to view tha characters in MS Word, for instance, please note you should use a font having a CE (Central European) branch - i.e. Times New Roman CE.

Regards from Bucharest,
Doru Voin

Dan Ilioiu
Dan Ilioiu  Identity Verified
Romania
English to Romanian
+ ...
Add Romanian language Sep 11, 2003

You can add the Romanian language to the list of available languages.

In Windows XP:

Control Panel -> Regional and Language Options -> Languages tab -> Details ... -> Add. Then choose Romanian Language and Romanian Keyboard. When you switch to Romanian, you will have the Romanian keyboard layout (;=ş; '=ţ; [=ă; ]=î; =â). You should print a Keyboard layout as there are some other kayes whose significance chang
... See more
You can add the Romanian language to the list of available languages.

In Windows XP:

Control Panel -> Regional and Language Options -> Languages tab -> Details ... -> Add. Then choose Romanian Language and Romanian Keyboard. When you switch to Romanian, you will have the Romanian keyboard layout (;=ş; '=ţ; [=ă; ]=î; =â). You should print a Keyboard layout as there are some other kayes whose significance change.

In Windows 98:

Control Panel -> Languages -> {see above}