lelykanawati
lelykanawati
Canada
Local time: 19:09
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Sep 3, 2010

Hello everybody!

I have recently moved to Montréal, QC and I'm still discovering the market here in Canada...
I'm a Portuguese English translator and i'd like to know how much to charge for interpreting and translation jobs.
Can anyone give me an idea of rates?

I've done some research and I found rates like $500/ day for interpreting and $0,13/word for translation, but I'm not sue that's it.

Can anyone help?

Thanks so much!

Tom Ellett (X)
Tom Ellett (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:09
Norwegian to English
+ ...
12-20 cents/word for Canadian agencies Sep 6, 2010

In my experience, good Canadian agencies will accept rates in the range of $0.12 to $0.20 per word for translation work, depending on language combination, subject matter, deadline, etc.

If you're lucky enough to land any direct clients, you can of course go higher.

Manon Gagne-Kellman
Manon Gagne-Kellman  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2009)
English to French
+ ...
12 -22 cents Sep 7, 2010

Hi,

If I get a direct client my rate is $0.22/word for which I have not had any complaints. Doing translation through a third party does bring down this rate quite significantly, sometimes as low as $0.07/word. I have noticed that the U.S. is quite happy with a quote of $0.13/word.

Meezermex
Meezermex
Local time: 18:09
Spanish to English
Legal Aid cases Oct 21, 2010

Hi,

I know that for interpretation Legal Aid pays $31 the first hour and $19 for every following hour. Translation for Legal Aid runs from $.10 to $.12 cents per word. Of course you can earn more working privately, but accepting Legal Aid (the government pays you not the client) means that you will have considerably more volume.

Just so you know

Arianne Farah
Arianne Farah  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2008)
English to French
Canadian & American agencies Oct 22, 2010