" Accredited " translator
Thread poster: happydolphins
Nov 25, 2015

Hello everyone,

I am going to immigrate to Canada and work as a self employed translator, I know if I want to use the title of " Certified Translator" I should refer to ATIO . but I don't know where to refer to get the permission to use the title of "Accredited Translator"?

Maxi Schwarz
Maxi Schwarz  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:27
German to English
+ ...
question Nov 26, 2015

What do you mean by accredited? Accredited by whom? The only accreditation that I know of off-hand in Canada is with the Translation Bureau (federal).

Laura Messer
Laura Messer  Identity Verified
Canada
Spanish to English
for immigration application Nov 26, 2015

Do you need this title for your immigration application?

See this discussion about requirements for documents submitted with visa applications (http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/what-is-the-official-definition-of-accredited-translator-t64907.0.html). I would take
... See more

See this discussion about requirements for documents submitted with visa applications (http://www.canadavisa.com/canada-immigration-discussion-board/what-is-the-official-definition-of-accredited-translator-t64907.0.html). I would take this to mean a translation certification obtained outside Canada, such as in your current country of residence. As you mentioned in your post, only translators who are certified through a Canadian translators' association can use the title "certified translator" in Canada.

[Edited at 2015-11-26 14:55 GMT]

If anyone else has the exact definition, please weigh in.

[Edited at 2015-11-26 14:57 GMT]
Collapse

happydolphins
happydolphins
Iran
TOPIC STARTER
WHAT IS A COURT INTERPRETER? Nov 26, 2015

Maxi Schwarz wrote:

What do you mean by accredited? Accredited by whom? The only accreditation that I know of off-hand in Canada is with the Translation Bureau (federal).