Cássio De Oliveira
Cássio De Oliveira
Brazil
Local time: 14:43
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Nov 8, 2018

Hello!

My name is Cássio and I am a Brazilian translator/proofreader (ptbr-eng). I do not have any graduation on languages or translations at the moment (but since I am bilingual I am able to work as a proofreader) and I will be studying next year in Canada. I would like to know a few things about how the translation market works there

1) Here in Brazil we have several translators who do not have majors and are self-taught. Is it possible to work as a translator in Can
... See more
Hello!

My name is Cássio and I am a Brazilian translator/proofreader (ptbr-eng). I do not have any graduation on languages or translations at the moment (but since I am bilingual I am able to work as a proofreader) and I will be studying next year in Canada. I would like to know a few things about how the translation market works there

1) Here in Brazil we have several translators who do not have majors and are self-taught. Is it possible to work as a translator in Canada with only the fluency and previous proofreading and translation experience?

2) Is there any college (1-2 years, since immigrants pay more than 3x for colleges than native people) that I could take in Canada that could help me get a starting-point job?

3) Is the translation market in there heavily focused on the pair eng-fr? I got that impression from my research (not to worry for I am already studying french)

4) Do you need a license to work as a translator in Canada, or that is just for translation official documents and such?

I would really appreciate the help, thanks in advance.
Collapse

Lorraine Dubuc
Lorraine Dubuc  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 13:43
English to French
Welcome, Cassio Nov 9, 2018

Here are my thoughts about your questions.