Thread poster: William Pairman
William Pairman
William Pairman  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:39
Member (2005)
Spanish to English
Jun 2, 2015

Like other Windows 7 and 8 users I saw a little Windows icon on the tool bar yesterday, offering a free upgrade to W10 when this is available in the summer.

I asked a few people who said variously "Sure, go for it", "Wait for W10 SP1" "Create a partition on your hard drive" and "Swerve at all costs"

What do others feel? I'm not a gamer but I do watch videos from time to time. I've been fine with W7 up till now...

Michael Davies
Michael Davies  Identity Verified
Denmark
Member (2009)
Danish to English
+ ...
Windows 10 Jun 2, 2015

I have just clicked on the 'windows 10' icon. There is no risk as far as I can see since the upgrade will not be done automatically. We will be notified when Windows 10 is available and can then choose for ourselves whether or not to follow through.

Apart from being a translator, I am also an ICT consultant and, so far, all I have read about Windows 10 (from other sources than Microsoft), we can look forward to Win10. So far, it seems, that MS get it right every other time - XP was
... See more
I have just clicked on the 'windows 10' icon. There is no risk as far as I can see since the upgrade will not be done automatically. We will be notified when Windows 10 is available and can then choose for ourselves whether or not to follow through.

Apart from being a translator, I am also an ICT consultant and, so far, all I have read about Windows 10 (from other sources than Microsoft), we can look forward to Win10. So far, it seems, that MS get it right every other time - XP was great, Vista was a dismal failure, Win 7 is great (I use it at the moment), Win 8 was a pain (a bit better with 8.1), so, if this keeps up, Win10 should be good. I'll keep monitoring the professional media on Win 10 and, if I am not still convinced when it becomes available, I'll stick with Win 7.
Collapse