dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?
论题张贴者: Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
丹麦
Local time: 04:25
正式会员 (自2010)
English英语译成Norwegian(Bokmal)挪威语(波克默尔语)
+ ...
Oct 1

I have received a job offer from the agency dokupartner (http://www.dokupartner.de) for a 22,000 word manual, but I don't find them registered on ProZ, and no entres on Blue Board. Is there anyone who has been in touch with them and know if they are a serious agency or if this may be a case of fraud?
Their contact person is Cristina Schmidt.

[Edited at 2026-10-01 09:35 GMT]


 
Lieven Malaise
Lieven Malaise  Identity Verified
比利时
Local time: 04:25
正式会员 (自2020)
French法语译成Dutch荷兰语
+ ...
Depends Oct 1

The website "www.dokupartner.de" seems to be legit. But there's also "www.dokupartner.online" and that's probably a scam website, at least according to Gemini.

What email address did they use?


 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
丹麦
Local time: 04:25
正式会员 (自2010)
English英语译成Norwegian(Bokmal)挪威语(波克默尔语)
+ ...
主题发起人
email seems legit Oct 1

Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person cont
... See more
Büro Nord
Büro Süd
Christoph-Probst-Weg 4
Föhrenweg 19
20251 Hamburg
91785 Pleinfeld

Tel.: +49-40-611 35 300
Tel.: +49-9144-92 71 31

E-Mail: [email protected]
Web: http://www.dokupartner.de
Inhaber: Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Thomas Fischer

The person contacting me, was Cristina Schmidt with the email [email protected]
At least she is not using gmail.com as email.
▲ Collapse


Lieven Malaise
 
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
葡萄牙
Local time: 03:25
正式会员 (自2007)
English英语译成Portuguese葡萄牙语
+ ...
@Roy Oct 1

A 22,000-word project as your first job for an agency you’ve never worked with before? It really does sound like a scam. I did a search using the name of your contact and the agency’s name, and it came up with zero answers. If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…

And yet

Website: OK
Address: OK
Telephone: OK
Email: OK

Maybe it's legit...


[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


expressisverbis
Thayenga
Zea_Mays
Véronique Vanseveren
Philip Lees
 
Roy Oestensen
Roy Oestensen  Identity Verified
丹麦
Local time: 04:25
正式会员 (自2010)
English英语译成Norwegian(Bokmal)挪威语(波克默尔语)
+ ...
主题发起人
Thanks Oct 1

Thank you for the suggestion.

 
Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
德国
Local time: 04:25
正式会员 (自2009)
English英语译成German德语
+ ...
Always check Oct 1

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida wrote:

If I were you, I’d send an email to the agency asking if ‘she’ actually works there…



[Edited at 2026-10-01 11:18 GMT]


When you're in doubt, just follow 'Teresa's advice. This is what I have been doing when in doubt. Sometimes the person does work there, sometime s/he doesn't. Better safe than sorry.


Roy Oestensen
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
 
Gregor Trebec
Gregor Trebec
斯洛文尼亚
Local time: 04:25
English英语译成Slovenian斯洛文尼亚语
+ ...
when in doubt, C4 Oct 1

It looks legit. She is using company's email. BUT 20.000 words as first assignement sounds realy strange, if not desperate.

 
Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
瑞典
Local time: 04:25
German德语译成Swedish瑞典语
+ ...
Phone Oct 1

The old-fashioned way to confirm someone's identity is to phone them via the company switchboard or a phone number provided on the company's website (NOT whatever is given in the e-mail).

The company can still turn out to be a non-payer, but a lot of obvious scams are filtered out.

And look up the company financials - they will be published somewhere.

I'd definitely do both if 22,000 words from a new client are involved.


Daryo
Zea_Mays
expressisverbis
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
 
Frank Zou
Frank Zou  Identity Verified
中国大陆
Local time: 10:25
正式会员 (自2016)
English英语译成Chinese汉语
+ ...
Ask for prepayment Oct 2

My suggestion is to ask for prepayment and staged payments as you submit parts of the translation. That way, you can be somewhat sure it's not a scam — especially if they're willing to pay in advance.

Joakim Braun
Gregor Trebec
Daryo
 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:

本论坛的版主
Lucia Leszinsky[Call to this topic]

You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

dokupartner: Is it safe to accept an offer from them?







Pastey
Your smart companion app

Pastey is an innovative desktop application that bridges the gap between human expertise and artificial intelligence. With intuitive keyboard shortcuts, Pastey transforms your source text into AI-powered draft translations.

Find out more »
Protemos translation business management system
Create your account in minutes, and start working! 3-month trial for agencies, and free for freelancers!

The system lets you keep client/vendor database, with contacts and rates, manage projects and assign jobs to vendors, issue invoices, track payments, store and manage project files, generate business reports on turnover profit per client/manager etc.

More info »